City of Laredo, Texas

Laredo Municipal Court

CITATIONS / OPTIONS

CITATIONS / OPTIONS

Back to Top

APPEARANCE DATE / PAYMENT OPTIONS

MUNICIPAL COURT

ONLINE

BY
MAIL

Traffic Tickets
(Citations)

 

 

 

Class C
Misdemeanors

 

 

 

Ordinance
Violations

 

 

 

Juvenile Related
Information / Services

 

Not
Available

Not
Available

IN PERSON AT THE MUNICIPAL COURTHOUSE

 

Laredo Municipal Court
4610 Maher Aver.
Laredo, TX 78041
Monday - Friday

8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Closed on weekends and on City Holiday's

 

Payment may be made with cash, money order, cashiers check, business check or debit/credit cards.  American Express or personal checks are NOT accepted.

ONLINE

PAYMENT BY MAIL

 

Mailing Address:

Laredo Municipal Court
P. O. Box 579
Laredo, TX 78042

Please be sure to reference your citation number, docket number or your name and date of birth on all correspondence to avoid posting delays.  Reminder to mail your payment 10 days before the due date to ensure enough time for the mail service to deliver your payment.  Payment may be made by money order, cashiers check or business check.  No personal checks are accepted.

 

  • You may make a request in writing to the Court BEFORE your court date as assigned on your citation or summons.
  • Payments mailed must be postmarked on or before your court appearance date to avoid incurring additional fees and/or a warrant for your arrest.

Depending on your financial circumstances or if you are indigent, you may be able to request a hearing with the judge to consider your ability to pay and any non-monetary compliances options available to you to satisfy your court debt.  The judge may grant or deny your request for a hearing, and non-monetary compliance options are available at the court's discretion.  You may be able to avoid jail time if you are unable to pay the amount owed without undue hardship to you and your dependents.  To request a hearing with the judge, avoid having your case reported as noncompliant or jail time, please visit Municipal Court between Monday and Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. or 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

 

Municipal Court   4610 Maher Ave.   Laredo, Texas 78041

TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS

Traffic violations are classified as Class C Misdemeanors, which are generally punishable by a fine not to exceed $200 and state mandated court costs.

APPEARANCE DATE

You must make an initial appearance in person, by mail or attorney representation, on or before the appearance date listed on your citation.
If the defendant is a juvenile, they must appear in person accompanied by a parent.

 

Plea of Guilty/Nolo Contendere:

Payment of fine may be made at initial appearance.  You do have the option of appearing before the Judge to request a Driver Safety Course or Deferred Disposition and keep the violation off your driving record. The court may also assess a fine and court cost to be paid immediately or by a future date. Payment plans or community service may also be ordered by the court.

 

To appear before the Judge, visit Municipal Court.

 

Laredo Municipal Court                          Monday-Thursday

4610 Maher Ave.                                         8:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. or

Laredo, Texas 78041                              12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

 

No court sessions are held on Friday’s.

Closed on the City of Laredo Holidays.

 

Proper court attire is required, no shorts, sleeveless tops or flip flops are allowed.   Also, no electronic devices, including cellular phones, are allowed inside the building.

 

Plea of Not Guilty:

If you contest the citation and plea not guilty, your case will be reset to a future date for pretrial conference.

 

Compliance Dismissals:

You may be able to request a dismissal of your citation if you are charged with the certain offenses.  See compliance dismissal information below.

FAILURE TO APPEAR

If you fail to appear on or before your appearance date, the court may issue a warrant for your arrest. Additionally, the court may request that the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) deny renewal of your Texas driver's license for your failure to appear. Additional court costs and fees may be assessed. If you possess a non-Texas driver's license, the State of Texas participates in the Non-Resident Violators Compact (NRVC), which may request that your home state suspend your driver license until you resolve your citation with this court.

Back to Top

The standard Safe Practices for Motor Vehicle Operations, ANSI/ASSE Z15.1, defines defensive driving as "driving to save lives, time, and money, in spite of the conditions around you and the actions of others." This definition is taken from the National Safety Council's Defensive Driving Course. It is a form of training for motor vehicle drivers that goes beyond mastery of the rules of the road and the basic mechanics of driving. Its aim is to reduce the risk of collision by anticipating dangerous situations, despite adverse conditions or the mistakes of others. This can be achieved through adherence to a variety of general rules, as well as the practice of specific driving techniques.


Defensive driving can only be considered if a plea of guilty or no contest is entered with the court on or before your court appearance date.

You are eligible to request this option if:

  • You are at least 18 years of age
  • You have current liability insurance and a valid Texas Driver License
  • You have not taken a Driver Safety Course within the last 12 months to dispose of a citation (Calculated from the date of the last course completed to the date of your current citation)
  • You do not possess a Commercial Driver License
  • You are not charged with speeding in excess of 24 mph over the speed limit
  • You are not charged with a violation:

-  in a construction work zone when workers present

-  passing school bus

-  leaving the scene of an accident


If you are eligible for the Driving Safety Course, click to download the Driving Safety Course request form.

Click here to request your Driver License Records.

Back to Top

If you were cited for a moving violation you may request Deferred Disposition for the purpose of having your case dismissed and not appear on your driving record.  Moving violations are defined as an act committed in connection with the operation of a motor vehicle on a public street or highway, which constitutes a hazard to traffic and is prohibited by state law or city ordinance.


Deferred Disposition is a form of plea deal, where a defendant pleads "Guilty" or "No Contest" to criminal charges in exchange for meeting certain requirements laid out by the court within an allotted period of time also ordered by the court. Upon completion of the requirements, which may include probation, treatment, community service, some form of community supervision, or some other diversion program, the defendant may avoid a formal conviction on their record or have their case dismissed. The Judge has the discretion of whether or not to grant Deferred Disposition.


You are eligible to request this option if:

  • You do not possess a Commercial Driver License
  • You are not charged with a violation in a construction work zone when workers present

 

Click to download Deferred Disposition Request Form.

Back to Top

COMPLIANCE DISMISSALS

Compliance Dismissals

You may be able to request a dismissal of your citation if you are charged with the following offenses:

 

  • Driving without financial responsibility
  • Fail to display valid driver license
  • No driver license
  • Expired driver license
  • Expired motor vehicle registration
  • Expired motor vehicle inspection
  • Unregistered motor vehicle
  • Failure to report change of address or name on drivers license


View the Compliance Dismissal List of eligible offenses and the requirements for requesting compliance dismissals.  Depending on the offense and/or appearance date, other fees such as late notice or Omni fee may apply.


Your request for dismissal may be presented in person or by mail as soon as your citation has been filed with the court or on your appearance date.


In person:                                                        By mail:

Laredo Municipal Court                                Laredo Municipal Court

4610 Maher Ave.                                             P.O. Box 579

Laredo, Texas 78041                                     Laredo, Texas 78042

Back to Top

You may plead "Not Guilty" and request a trial by Judge or a trial by Jury.

 

REQUEST FOR A TRIAL

 

You may enter a plea of Not Guilty with the court as soon as the citation has been filed with the court or on your scheduled court date. You may make your request at the Court Clerk's Office or in writing. Upon receiving your request, your case(s) will be placed on a pretrial docket. At your hearing you will have the opportunity to:

 

1.Review the complaint filed against you;

2.Meet with the City Prosecutor to review the merits of your case;

3.If you are eligible, the City Prosecutor may offer a plea-bargain.

 

You have a right to a trial and you do not have to accept any Plea Bargain the City Prosecutor might offer. At your trial, you will be found either Guilty or Not Guilty. If you are found Guilty, the Jury or Judge will determine the fine amount.

 

Click here to download Not Guilty Plea/Request for Trial form.

Back to Top

DRIVER LICENSE HOLDS

If you are unable to renew your drivers license due to a hold that was placed, you must pay all pending citations in full before any hold can be released or you must appear before the Judge to request other special arrangements. Keep in mind, not all requests are granted and are at the discretion of the Judge.  Payments can be made in person or by mail.  Once your payment has been received, please allow 7-10 days for the hold on your drivers license to be released.  If you prefer to speak to the Judge, you must appear in person for court. Please keep in mind, arrangements on cases CAN NOT be made over the telephone.  For additional information on renewing your drivers license, call 512-424-2600 or  log on to  www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense.

 

SURCHARGES

Surcharges are fees accessed by the Texas Dept of Public Safety or DPS based on certain traffic offenses.

For additional information on surcharges, call 512-424-2600 or log on to www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense.

DRIVING SAFETY COURSE - DEFENSIVE DRIVING

DEFERRED DISPOSITION (PROBATION)

REQUEST FOR TRIAL

DRIVER LICENSE HOLDS AND SURCHARGES

> Home

> Judge

> Citation / Options

> Schedule of Fines

Laredo Municipal Court

4610 Maher Ave.

Laredo, TX  78041

Ph:  (956) 794-1680

Fax:  (956) 717-3407

Email:  laredomunicipalcourt@ci.laredo.tx.us

Copyright © 2000-2017 City of Laredo.  All rights reserved.